Author Topic: Filters Clog too Quickly  (Read 2451 times)

Offline Crisco

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 15/06/2010
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Filters Clog too Quickly
« on: June 26, 2010, 05:48:52 AM »
Hi,
I am new to ponds and just set up a very small pond that has a Pondmaster 190 fountain/filter.  I started using the pump 4 weeks ago and cleaned it after 2 weeks and then about a week ago then just 2 days ago and now it needs cleaned again?  Each time I clean the filters, I have to because the flow from the fountain reduced to a trickle due to clogging with muck. I only have about 5 small 3 inch goldfish and 4 tadpoles in the pond and no plants yet. Any advice or suggestions to avoid having to clean the filter every other day?  Would I be better off making a smaller version of a skippy filter for this small pond?  I also read about removing the filters and putting the pump in a basket type container with nylon scrub balls or cleaning pads surounding the pump.

Thanks

Chris
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 06:59:05 AM by Crisco »

Offline Kittyzee

• Members
  • With us since: 09/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Filters Clog too Quickly
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 06:24:53 AM »
Mine does the same thing too--but that's what filters do, filter the water and this time of year there is a lot of particulate matter, fish poo, etc. and we hose ours off every few days.  Maybe it makes a difference if you have a skimmer (which I don't), but this is stuff suspended under the water not skimmed off the top.  My water is clear and fish and plants are healthy, so I don't really mind doing it in the height of ponding season... :)
LuAnn