Author Topic: Pump Performance in Real Systems  (Read 1237 times)

Offline Lawrence of PA

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 25/02/2009
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Pump Performance in Real Systems
« on: February 28, 2009, 10:35:52 AM »
I have read several threads here and in other forums related to pump performance.  There seems to be some confusion about how pumps work, and what we need to know to size a pump correctly.  I am a retired engineer, and I spent most of my career working  with pumps in fluid systems.

Pond pumps are centrifugal pumps.  Manufacturers love to quote us numbers that sound very appealing: 4500 gph; max head 22 ft.  Well, we can't get 4500 gph AND 22 ft at the same time.  The 22 ft head is measured when the pump is working into a shutoff line -- this is zero flow.  The 4500 gph is measured when the discharge hose is essentially lying on the ground -- typically about 1 ft of head.

A centrifugal pump has a "characteristic curve," which describes the relationship between head and flow over the entire range of the pump's operation.  For illustration, I'm using pump curves for Sequence 1000 pumps, since I plan to install one this summer.  The manufacturer, MDM, provides very good application information on these pumps, including the head-flow curve and the power consumption curve.

In a plumbing system, as flow increases, the flow resistance (aka flow friction, or "friction head") increases too.  But it increases roughly as the square of the flow.  That is, if flow doubles, the friction head goes up by a factor of 4.  A great reason to minimize flow friction, by reducing fittings, length, elbows, curves, etc.; and by increasing pipe diameter.