Author Topic: Two of Five...  (Read 3581 times)

Offline karen J

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Members
  • With us since: 09/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Karen's Frog Pond
Re: Two of Five...
« Reply #30 on: July 20, 2008, 07:37:56 PM »

Down here, the poor and the indigenous are very superstitious, and very religious.  They have all kinds of beliefs that defy logic and science but that they truly believe and defend.  Did you know that night air carries the risk of disease and possession by evil spirits?  So, no matter how hot it is keep those windows closed. 

I find that fascinating. I'm no expert in religion, but as an Anthropologist, I suspect that many superstitions & religions have derived their roots based on the need to 'pass along' important survival information (especially before the advent of written language). "Don't eat this, eat that" and "stay away from that cliff" type stuff. Perhaps in the tropics, it was considered important to protect against "something that occurred at night". That superstition may have conveyed survival upon people who stayed inside (or protected themselves) at night. Those people would survive and reproduce. Of course, we know now that mosquitoes carry (& can transmit) disease. But they didn't know that then. What they may have known was that disease occurred more often when people were exposed at dusk or at night, when (what we know now is that) mosquitoes are more active. Science can trace many of it's roots back to primitive superstitions (not that any and/or all are true).

In the 1820's, the best medical science available said that Yellow Fever was caused by "impure air". It was actually caused by mosquitoes.

I don't think Anthropology can explain why anyone would want to mutilate somebody's pet, gotta go to organized religion for that one.  :( Unless certain animals were always associated with some sort of pathological condition.