Author Topic: Winterizing Ponds  (Read 2050 times)

Offline jarch

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 21/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Winterizing Ponds
« on: October 04, 2006, 06:39:43 AM »
I am new to ponding and have a new 5000 gal pond with skimmer and bio falls. I live in Northern NJ.
I am wondering if the filteration should run throught the winter, or do I shut it down and install a heater or aerator to prevent solid ice buid up?
I do not have a bottom drain , so if you let it run all winter , how do you make sure the water will always flow into the skimmer, and not freeze.
Should I have installed a bottom drain? What about cleaning the pond, should i wash out the bottom of muck before the winter, or leave it alone?
Thanks for any input

Offline krandy21784

• Members
  • With us since: 14/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Winterizing Ponds
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2006, 09:18:37 AM »
Hi Jarch,

I leave the pumps run all winter, I put a stock pond de-icer ($45.) and run it and definitely clean as much muck as you can get as it will deplete oxygen.

Offline hnladue

• Members
  • With us since: 15/08/2006
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2006, 11:16:33 AM »
I shutdown my waterfall, but leave the filter running that runs the fountain since it's an inpond filter. I don't have to touch it all winter, the filter stays clean. I pull the fountain head off so it's bubbles just below the surface. And I also place a deicer in the pond (becketts $35) nex to the filter.

Offline barb

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Members
  • Connecticut
  • With us since: 11/08/2006
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2006, 01:03:30 PM »