Author Topic: Dilemma - Concrete waterfall  (Read 1104 times)

Offline tweetybaby2005

• Trade Count: (15)
  • Members
  • Proud mom to a child with Autism
  • With us since: 21/05/2008
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • http://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates_both/language/www/US/KS/Wichita.gifhttp://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates_both/language/www/US/KS/Wichita.gif
Dilemma - Concrete waterfall
« on: July 26, 2008, 04:02:11 PM »
We are nearing the end of digging the new pond.  DH wants a concrete waterfall.  I'm against it for fear it will crack with the cold winter here is KS.  We are in Zone 6b.  The temperature can get as cold as 10F with wind chill in the negative digits (for days).  Since I'm new to ponding, I want to ask some BTDT experts the pros and cons of having a concrete waterfall.  The main pond will be lined with EPDM liner.  The waterfall will have the big flat stones mortared together.  I need lots of assurance before I will agree with DH.  lol  I have a great DH because he said he likes it when I disagree with him.   O0

Thank you.

Kuan

Offline aravenschild

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Members
  • With us since: 28/12/2007
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Dilemma - Concrete waterfall
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2008, 04:11:14 PM »
I live near Branson,Mo, I know its not exactly the same thing, but my father had a concrete slab poured just outside his work shop and had them mix fiberglass fibers in the concrete while it was still wet. Its almost 20 years old now and still hasn't cracked.....

Good luck with whatever method you choose....

Vicky

Offline Julles

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 06/06/2007
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile