Author Topic: Pond Master pre filter question  (Read 1460 times)

Offline Zoe

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Members
  • With us since: 21/04/2009
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Pond Master pre filter question
« on: December 31, 2010, 08:37:52 AM »
I have a Pond Master pump in my lily pond. I have both the screw in foam filter and also the barrel type protector that screws on the intake. This is a new pump so these parts are new also. The problem is that the barrel attachement will collapse from its normal shape at least once a week. The foam attachement I just have to wash it off but the barrel I have to soak it in warm water then hope its goes back to its original shape. What else can I use to protect both my pump and the little fish so they they don't get sucked up? o(

Offline SueSTx

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Members
  • With us since: 11/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Pond Master pre filter question
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2010, 11:55:52 AM »
Remember that I am a redneck ponder.  I raise lilies and have goldfish for skitter control.  It was 14* this morning and I a fine sheet of ice on less than 1/2 of the surface.

I bought two mini laundry baskets at the dollar store.  I tied them together with zip ties for a hinge.  I cut a hole in the top to run by hose through and then connected it to the pump.  I wrapped the submergable pump in one of those blue fiber water cooler pads from WM.  I put the whole thing into the baskets with the tubing out the top and the cord out the side.  I then tied the front hinge area together with wire twisties.  I take it apart and clean it about once a month during the summer.  I run it year around.  My skippy type filter is inside the tank also.  In the summer I raise the filter about a foot for more water drop.  I raise the pump on a milk crate in the winter.