Author Topic: Covering pond for the winter  (Read 932 times)

Offline big ron

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 16/01/2011
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Covering pond for the winter
« on: September 06, 2011, 05:19:53 AM »
I have decided to cover my pond ( 10'x 15' ) this winter with reinforced poly to help keep the leaves and debris out.  The pond is 3' deep and I will be running the pump through the waterfall as I did last year.  It will also have a heater in the pond.  I will have a 3'x3' access hole in the plastic to monitor what is happening throughout the winter.  My questions are :
Would it be better to remove the pump and install an aerator maybe with 2 outlets for oxegen or use both incase one fails ?     Also I have been told that the plastic cannot be air tight because you need to have a way for gases to escape.  Please advise as this is my first time covering my pond.     Thanks   

Offline tweetybaby2005

• Trade Count: (15)
  • Members
  • Proud mom to a child with Autism
  • With us since: 21/05/2008
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • http://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates_both/language/www/US/KS/Wichita.gifhttp://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates_both/language/www/US/KS/Wichita.gif
Re: Covering pond for the winter
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2011, 06:00:53 PM »