Author Topic: Bought a house with a pond - Break down 2 nights later.  (Read 1052 times)

Offline THE V

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 15/01/2008
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Bought a house with a pond - Break down 2 nights later.
« on: August 17, 2015, 04:05:38 PM »
Hello,

This is my first post here.  It's a bit long winded because I'm waiting to for my work truck to get fixed.

Little bit of background about me. I've been keeping aquariums for 20+ years.  I kept some goldfish in a 125 for over 10 years until the seal on the tank broke and I lost them all.  I've since kept it as a low-tech planted tank for over 4 years.  I just took a new job and moved from California to Eastern Washington.  I've worked in microbiology, statistics, plant research, seed marketing, and now seed sales mostly for agriculture.  You could say I'm sort of a jack of all trades when it comes to living things.  I'm also the sort of guy that takes care of my car's myself, builds furniture for fun, and can DIY most anything to the house (after researching a bunch to make sure I do it right).

The house I just bought has around a 8,000 gallon koi pond installed.  It has 4 lesser quality koi  (2 male and 2 female around 18-20" in length").  It also has around 80 goldfish in the pond (2-6 years old from my estimation) and they appear to be successfully breeding.  I think there is too many of them and plan to trade in 50 or 60 of them and aquire 10-12  respectable quality koi.