Author Topic: So you want to build a pond?  (Read 1164 times)

Offline Esther

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Members
  • With us since: 05/01/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
So you want to build a pond?
« on: June 28, 2007, 06:30:29 AM »
This thread was generated by reading Reedman's post telling that his pond almost pumped empty. I got to thinking that maybe there are people reading this forum who are wanting to build a pond or just in the process of starting one. I am not an expert by any means. But I have learned some things by reading this forum and making my own pond. So I decided to post a list of the things that I think are most important when you are building a pond. The items are not listed in order of importance.

Before you start digging, check with your local township/county people to learn if there are any rules or restrictions about putting a hole in the ground and filling it with water.

1. Water source. It is so handy to have your hose easily accessed so you aren't constantly having to drag a hose every time you need to top off your pond, hook up the Scarecrow, or rinse your filter media.

2. Electricity source. It should be conveniently located to avoid the temptation to run extension cords. There should be lots of places to plug in your pumps, fountains,  spitters, lights, etc. You will always have more things to plug in than you expected when you first started.  Check with your licensed electrician.

3. GFI. Never run the risk of an electrical disaster. Not only can it kill your fish but your life is in danger too if something goes wrong. Call that electrician guy again.