Author Topic: Lotus from seed  (Read 1148 times)

Offline vmckague

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Members
  • With us since: 13/04/2007
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Lotus from seed
« on: August 21, 2007, 11:45:12 AM »
My lotus did really good this year and gave me about 10 blooms. My question is ,will the seeds that fell from the pods into the pond sprout?? My pond has about 2 inches of gunk on the bottom and maybe they will sprout in this organic matter. Any ideas? This is my first year with this pond and I don't think I'll clean it out this year but wait until next. That is the way I did my old small pond and it did really good for 10+ years. No I don't have a bottom drain I just climb in and start cleaning it out. Kind of a right of spring here. LOL

Offline tranquility

• Trade Count: (72)
  • Members
  • With us since: 10/08/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Lotus from seed
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2007, 04:22:42 PM »
I really want to say no...I think the seed have to be filed or nicked first....Personally it is alot easier to divide the lotus to get new plants ...rather than start them from seeds....and going into winter with a clean pond is alot better than cleaning it in the spring.....most spring time problems occur from dirty ponds in the winter....
Lawanna
Life is too short...... Live, Love, Laugh !!!!

Oklahoma-45 min. from Ganderville
Zone 7a :)

Offline PondmaninAL

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Members
  • Pond God
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2007, 05:39:22 PM »
Maybe in ten years they might sprout but don't hold your breathe. Clean it all out.

Happy ponding,
Scott
o(
Happy ponding,
Scott o(

ALABAMA!! 2010 BCS National Champion!!