Author Topic: Newbie here! Need Sean's expert advice on tropical lily  (Read 912 times)

Offline tizzylizzy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Members
  • With us since: 12/09/2007
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Newbie here! Need Sean's expert advice on tropical lily
« on: October 01, 2007, 03:40:34 PM »
Well not actually a real newbie...was part of this group with the old site.
Anyways, I have this tropical lily I got for the first time ever this year called Red Ruby. Gorgeous lily Ive ever seen! Well I didnt know that it grows little baby lily plants in the middle of the pads! So cool, huh?
Well I brought some in a cup and put some fertilizer in there and theyre doing pretty well, but theyre really small. Will I get bigger ones off of these next year or am I just wasting my time?
And Id like to over winter the big main plant this winter if I could. I live in PA probably like zone 6.
Can I just take it out of the pot, put it in a pan of water with fertilizer and will it live? Hope Sean gets this.....I see he's an expert on this!
Thanks for anybodys input though!
tizzylizzy

Offline Sean

• Tropical Waterlily Guru
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Members
  • With us since: 05/01/2006
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Sean's Ponds & Patio Garden
Re: Newbie here! Need Sean's expert advice on tropical lily
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 05:04:14 PM »
Read up on this link, I have a tutorial on Viviparous waterlilies and it may cause you to ask even more questions.

This is the link  http://www.americanponders.com/forum/index.php?topic=137.0

If you have additional questions, I will be happy to help you out, I am just back from grocery shopping so I have food prep to do from bulk to individual servings.

Cheers,
Sean
Vancouver BC Zone 8B
...........Click my Gif's............

Offline tizzylizzy